Who will win the Sheffield Shield 2019-20?

Sheffield Shield is the second oldest first-class cricket competition in the world. The league was inaugurated in 1892-93 when the first season was played and since then, the tournament has been offering opportunities to Australian cricketers. The league is very popular with a huge fan base and high betting trends. Every year, people put their hard-earned money on cricket betting and rely on Sheffield Shield predictions to increase their chances of winning.

The game has given many star cricketers to the world and the 118th season of the league has just begun. This year, there are several novice cricketers trying their luck in registering their names in the record books.

Teams participating in the Sheffield Shield 2019-20:

Sheffield Shield tournament is also known as Pura Cup. A total of 6 teams participate in this league, including:

  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia
  • New South Wales

In the last season, Victoria took home the Sheffield Shield trophy by beating New South Wales in the finals. The tournament also has a Player of the year award which was presented to Scotty Boland of Victoria team.

Sheffield Shield Prediction 2019-20:

While all the six teams participating in the Sheffield Shield tournament will aim to win the title, the winner will be only one lucky team. The season has already had many new players to make their debut and prepare themselves to play for the country in larger formats. All the six teams participating in the Sheffield Shield tournament are very competitive and predicting who would win the tournament is nothing less than a challenge. Different teams have taken home the title several times and thus have their own weightage.

Victoria has been a team that is known for its extremely powerful defending strategy. They have won the title for four times in the last five years. The team played 10 games in the last league and lost only one.

The runner-up of the last tournament, New South Wales team has the record of winning a total of 46 titles in the history of the league. However, lately, they have been a little out of form with their last victory registered in the year 2013-14.

Western Australia, Queensland, Tasmania, and South Australia teams are equally good with a powerful player’s combination. Tasmania won the title in 2012-13 while Queensland was the winner in 2017-18 leagues. Western Australia has had a hard time in the league and was the winners in 1998-99 last.