How many countries in the world play Cricket? (Part 1)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the governing body of the cricket sport, established in 1909 under the name of the Royal Cricket Conference by agents from three countries, including Australia, England and South Africa.

ICC has a total of 104 members, 12 of whom are full members participating in the test matches and the remaining 94 members are associate members.

South Africa, Zimbabwe, West Indies, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand, England and Ireland are the 12 full members of the ICC. Australia, Great Britain and South Africa had full membership since 1909, followed by New Zealand, West India and India in 1926, and then Pakistan (1952), Sri Lanka (1981), Zimbabwe (1992), Bangladesh (2000). ), Afghanistan (2017) and Ireland (2017).

Cricket is a world famous game captured the English in the 16th century, and was played by two teams of 11 members each. Professional cricket matches consist of Single-day matches as well as 5-day Fight matches.

There are over 120 million professional cricket players worldwide.

European Cricket Council is responsible for overseeing matches in European countries.

The only well-trained European team is the England team. The remaining teams such as Scotland, Turkey and the Netherlands are still trying to reach the standards of international matches.

Despite being a vanguard, to this day, England has yet to win the World Cricket Championship. However, the UK has organized the tournament 4 times.

Andrew Flintoff, a member of the British cricket team, is considered one of the most comprehensive players in the world.

The only team that has ever made it to the World Cricket finals is England with 3 runner-ups.

There are over 12 million cricket fans across Europe.

Founding member

South Africa

South Africa is one of the three founding members of the ICC. Its national cricket team is popularly known as Protease and is a full member of ICC, they have T20 International, One Day International and Test status. As of 2018, the Cricket team of South Africa played 420 matches, won 157 and lost 139, 91 T20 matches, won 54 and lost 36, and 586 ODI won 361 and lost 203.